Home    |    Contact Us   


Contact Us

Lance Rothschild
CEO: MTN Radio Awards
C: 082 443 1530
E: lance@mtnradioawards.com

Taryn Westoby
COO: MTN Radio Awards
T: 082 442 1782
F: 086 645 7999
E: taryn@mtnradioawards.com

Michelle McBride
Assistant: MTN Radio Awards
T: 011 803 2040
E: michellem@thefuture.co.za

Claire Schimper
Assistant: MTN Radio Awards
T: 011 803 2040
E: claire@thefuture.co.za

MTN Radio Awards

@mtnradioawards / #mtnradio


About the MTN Radio Awards

The MTN Radio Awards aims to present a credible, well-judged transparent programme that promotes and recognises excellence in radio, with the objective of ensuring that radio remains one of South Africa’s foremost media choices. It’s about rewarding those individuals and organisations who combine talent, hard work and skill to ensure that their listeners are compelled.

With radio still at the forefront of media utilised by South Africans to interact with their world, the MTN Radio Awards seeks to motivate radio people and organisations to constantly raise the bar in terms of their performance; with a firm focus on keeping their listener engaged and happy.

We’re proud to recognise and honour South Africa’s outstanding radio talent, from in-front-of-the-mic presenters to behind-the-scenes producers. In doing so, we hope to inspire people wishing to enter this dynamic industry. The 2015 MTN Radio Awards will be the sixth edition of this Awards programme. Winning an MTN Radio Award needs to be seen as a key achievement, something to be added to the individual’s or the station’s résumé.

Who will be amongst the winners at the Awards Banquet at the Sandton Convention Centre on Saturday 18th April? Get your entries in early.

About the Judges

Judges for the MTN Radio Awards are selected on the basis of their relevant experience and expertise.

With many of the adjudicators emanating from the radio industry, organizers have ensured that categories and tasks are allocated in such a manner as to ensure that no conflicts-of-interest arise. In addition, no single adjudicator has the ability to influence the results. Each adjudicator enters their scores online and has no view of the score that any other adjudicator is allocating. Once the adjudicators complete their judging and scoring, the data and the scores are audited by Sizwe Ntsaluba Gobodo to ensure absolute transparency of the results.

The panel includes the following:

  • Alan Khan – Director of Corporate Affairs at Durban University of Technology and former CEO of Jacaranda FM
  • Alfie Jay – Operations Director – Algoa FM
  • Andy Rice – Chairman of Yellowwood, a brand strategy consultancy
  • Bonga Mpanza – Ukhozi FM Station Manager
  • Carlito Sheikh –2000FM Station Manager
  • Cindy Diamond – Sales Director of MediaMark
  • Dewald Noel van Niekerk – TUKS FM Station Manager
  • Dmitri Jegels – SMILE FM Presenter
  • Doc Fick – Head of Curriculum and Skills Development – National Electronic Media Institute of South Africa
  • Dylan Rogers – Former head of Sport at eNCA and contributor to Primedia Broadcasting
  • Felicia Buthelezi – Entrepreneur and Publisher “I Do” Magazine
  • Gavin Meiring – Director of Brandswell Agency and former Station Manager of Heart 104.9 FM
  • Greg Maloka – Managing Director of Kaya FM
  • Helen Desbois –Radio Presenter and Producer
  • Ismail Variava – PRO of Radio Islam
  • Jackie Phaka – Broadcast policy-developer for Electronic Media in Education and former radio presenter
  • James Seerane – National Executive Member – National Community Radio Forum
  • Jayne Morgan – Writer, media consultant and media trainer
  • Jeremy Maggs – Co-founder of MTN Radio Awards and media expert
  • Jeremy Thorpe – Station Manager Tshwane FM
  • John Walls – Director of Ultimate Media – specialist Radio Agency
  • Kate Turkington – Journalist and highly experienced broadcaster
  • Kevin Savage – Veteran broadcaster and radio entrepreneur
  • Koos Radebe – MTN Radio Awards Lifetime Achiever 2013
  • Lance Rothschild – CEO of MTN Radio Awards
  • Luckie Ntuli – Former Swazi Radio and Metro FM Breakfast Show host
  • Lumko Mtimde – CEO of Media Development and Diversity Agency
  • Matona Sakupwanya - General Manager of the Radio Advertising Bureau SA
  • Mfundo Ntsibande – Associate Director of Mackay Communication and Slick Branding
  • Musa Kalenga – Head of Digital Marketing at Nedbank
  • Natano Brache – Head of Content – SABC Radio
  • Naveen Singh – Programming Manager – Jacaranda FM
  • Nick Efstathiou – General Manager OFM and MTN Radio Awards Bright Star 2013
  • Nomahlubi Simamane – Founder and CEO Zanusi Brand Solutions
  • Patrick Bogatsu – Operations Manager – Gagasi FM
  • Rich Mkhondo – Chairman of MTN Radio Awards
  • Rio Mabunda – Ligwalagwala FM Station Manager
  • Shireen Robinson – Account Director at Ultimate Media
  • Thulasizwe Nkabinde – International Choir Master
  • Tim Zunkel – 5FM Programme Manager
  • Professor Tinyiko Maluleke – Academic and member of the South African Academy of Science
  • Tony Lankester – CEO of the National Arts Festival
  • Tshifhiwa Chris Khorommbi – Studio Productions SABC News
  • Tsholo Sebobe – Account Director at Ultimate Media
  • Vernon Adams – Former Programme Manager – Heart FM
  • Vusi Letsaolo – On Air Presenter – Gagasi FM
  • Zaid Bhoola – Multi-award winning radio presenter and MTN Radio Awards Bright Star 2012
  • Zamambo Mkize – SABC Regional General Manager and former Ukhozi FM Presenter
  • Zandile Nzalo – Managing Director of Zanenza Communications

The Team


Future Group, a media and marketing solutions company, is proud to bring you
The MTN Radio Awards. Co-founders Richard Lendrum and Jeremy Maggs acknowledge that the MTN Radio Awards would not be possible without the sponsorship and commitment of MTN. We continue to enjoy excellent support from MTN, still one of the foremost advertisers on radio in South Africa.


Privacy Policy    |    Legal

Site designed and developed by That's It Communications

© The Future Group. All rights reserved.

Link to Youtube Link to Twitter Link to Facebook